June 23, 2023 (Friday) – Crete

Today we went to Iguana Beach in town. It was just Teenie and me at first–Beanie wasn’t up for it, so Panini took him grocery shopping. The beaches in Crete are not so different from one another. They are all more or less crowded, sandy, “organized” (meaning they have umbrellas and chairs that you can pay for and often a shower). Some are slightly warmer than others, some have pebbles in addition to sand, some are prone to windiness, some have slightly rougher waves, some have a few restaurants, some many, some none. At Falassarna yesterday our sun tent was no match for the moderate winds that frequently gusted sand into our eyes. At Iguana Beach today I set up the tent on my own. Teenie and I spent all day there, a good six-and-a-half hours. Panini said it was practically two beach trips because she’d been ready to go in the middle, when Panini came with pizza he’d heated at home. If she leaves the beach for any reason she must de-sand herself, and then she’s loathe to go back. We had to coax her, but once she’s there she plays happily in the sand and water and won’t leave. Then we have to coax her again to get her back out. Sometimes it’s not worth the effort. Today she cried because I wouldn’t keep building tunnels in the sand with her; my wrist hurt from digging. She got over it, but I see that she has more fun with Panini.

Leave a comment